Playlist for Tuesday, September 29, 2020

  • 12:00 am: Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

    Program Playlist

    • 12:01 am: Fantasia Suite No. 8

      Composer: John Jenkins
      Ensembles: Locke Consort
      Catalog Information: Channel Classic 17698
    • 12:06 am: Summer Scenes from Hame

      Composer: Vaino Raitio
      Ensembles: Tapiola Sinfonietta
      Conductor: Tuomas Ollila-Hannikainen
      Catalog Information: Ondine 975
    • 12:24 am: Tango

      Composer: Isaac Albeniz
      Performer: Jason Vieaux, guitar
      Catalog Information: Azica 71224
    • 12:28 am: Piano Quintet

      Composer: Joaquin Turina
      Ensembles: Quiroga Quartet
      Performer: Javier Perianes, piano
      Catalog Information: Harmonia Mundi 902226
    • 1:01 am: Spring

      Composer: Edvard Grieg
      Ensembles: Danish National Radio Choir
      Conductor: Stefan Parkman
      Catalog Information: Chandos 9464
    • 1:06 am: Symphony No. 49 "La Passione"

      Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
      Ensembles: Cantilena
      Conductor: Adrian Shepherd
      Catalog Information: Chandos 8541
    • 1:30 am: Clarinet Concerto No. 3

      Composer: Bernhard Crusell
      Ensembles: London Symphony Orchestra
      Performer: Thea King, clarinet
      Conductor: Alun Francis
      Catalog Information: Hyperion 66708
    • 1:56 am: Preludes, Book 1: La fille aux cheveux de lin (The Girl with the Flaxen Hair)

      Composer: Claude Debussy
      Performer: Yolanda Kondonassis, harp
      Catalog Information: Telarc 80622
    • 2:01 am: Pavane and Gigue

      Composer: William Byrd
      Ensembles: BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
      Conductor: Matthias Bamert
      Catalog Information: Chandos 9930
    • 2:06 am: Slow Change

      Composer: John Williams
      Performer: John Williams, guitar
      Catalog Information: JCW 1
    • 2:10 am: English Pastoral Impressions

      Composer: Ernest Farrar
      Ensembles: Philharmonia Orchestra
      Conductor: Alasdair Mitchell
      Catalog Information: Chandos 9586
    • 2:26 am: Piano Concerto No. 1

      Composer: Peter Tchaikovsky
      Ensembles: Minnesota Orchestra
      Performer: Stephen Hough, piano
      Conductor: Osmo Vanska
      Catalog Information: Hyperion 67711
    • 3:01 am: Greensleeves to a Ground

      Composer: Anonymous
      Performer: Daniel Hope, violin
      Catalog Information: DG 13993
    • 3:06 am: String Quartet No. 16

      Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      Ensembles: Emerson String Quartet
      Catalog Information: DG 431797
    • 3:35 am: Harp Concerto

      Composer: George Frideric Handel
      Ensembles: The King's Violins
      Performer: Valerie Milot, harp
      Conductor: Bernard Labadie
      Catalog Information: Analekta 9990
  • 10:00 am: Performance Today

    Performance Today features timely recordings that can't be heard anywhere else, recent performances by the great artists of our time and by the next generation of classical artists, from concert halls around the globe. Plus interviews and performances from the APM studios, and from concert stages around the country, along with classical music news and features. Every week composer Bruce Adolphe joins host Fred Child for a classical music game, the PT Piano Puzzler.

  • 12:00 pm: Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

About HPM Classical

HPM Classical is Houston’s only classical music station, providing Houstonians with outstanding performances from local to international. Support comes primarily through the generous contributions of listeners with additional money from grants, special events and the local business community. HPM Classical is licensed to the University of Houston System governed by the UH Board of Regents. The Houston Public Media Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3 support organization which serves to secure the financial future of Houston Public Broadcasting and to cultivate and engage community resources to support its mission.

Ways to Listen to HPM Classical

Full-time classical programming is available on 88.7 HD-2, and streaming online via our player, iHeartRadio, and TuneIn. If you would like to provide feedback, please send your comments to

More ways to listen, as well as troubleshooting information, is available on our Ways to Listen page.