Houston Matters

Changes In Jury Duty (June 15, 2021)

On Tuesday’s show: Improvements in Harris County jury duty service, City Councilmember Carolyn Evans-Shabazz answers questions, and major deadlines approach for COVID-19 economic relief.


To embed this piece of audio in your site, please use this code:

<iframe src="https://embed.hpm.io/400681/400634" style="height: 115px; width: 100%;"></iframe>

On Tuesaday’s Houston Matters: Harris County District Clerk Marilyn Burgess discusses improvements to the experience of jury duty service.

Also this hour: City Councilmember Carolyn Evans-Shabazz, who represents District D, answers your questions.

Then, two major deadlines are coming up at the end of the month — one for federal unemployment benefits and another for a nationwide eviction moratorium. We discuss the options for Houstonians.

And a Houston-based homage to a notorious literary character takes shape in Gardner Landry’s novel Merlin of the Magnolias.

Today in Houston Newsletter Signup
We're in the process of transitioning services for our Today in Houston newsletter. If you'd like to sign up now, fill out the form below and we will add you as soon as we finish the transition. **Please note** If you are already signed up for the newsletter, you do not need to sign up again. Your subscription will be migrated over.


This article is part of the Houston Matters podcast

  • Subscribe on Apple Podcasts
  • Subscribe on Google Podcasts
  • Subscribe on Spotify
  • Subscribe on Stitcher
  • Subscribe on TuneIn
  • Subscribe on iHeart
  • Subscribe on Pandora
  • Subscribe on RadioPublic
  • Subscribe on Pocket Casts
  • Subscribe on Overcast
  • Subscribe on Amazon Music
  • Subscribe via RSS
Michael Hagerty

Michael Hagerty

Senior Producer, Houston Matters

Michael Hagerty is the senior producer for Houston Matters. He's spent more than 20 years in public radio and television and dabbled in minor league baseball, spending four seasons as the public address announcer for the Reno Aces, the Triple-A affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

More Information