Encore Houston

Episode 203: Apollo Chamber Players

The Apollo Chamber Players present music by Copland, Thomson, and a pair of world premieres from Allison Loggins-Hull and Mark Buller.

String quartet and flute player performing on stage
Lynn Lane
The Apollo Chamber Players and composer/flautist Allison Loggins-Hull


To embed this piece of audio in your site, please use this code:

<iframe src="https://embed.hpm.io/471257/471254" style="height: 115px; width: 100%;"></iframe>

On this episode of Encore Houston, the Apollo Chamber Players present their concert “Banned,” with new music by Allison Loggins-Hull and Mark Buller that considers censorship in literature.

Music in this episode:

    • Allison Loggins-Hull, flute
  • AARON COPLAND: Two Pieces for string quartet
  • VIRGIL THOMSON: String Quartet No. 2
  • MARK BULLER: Firewall
    • Allison Loggins-Hull, flute
    • Matt Detrick, violin
    • Anabel Ramirez Detrick, violin
    • Aria Cheregosha, viola
    • Matthew Dudzik, cello
  • Performance date: 10/6/2023
  • Originally aired: 11/11/2023

New episodes of Encore Houston air Saturdays at 10 PM, with a repeat broadcast Sundays at 4 PM, all on Houston Public Media Classical.


This article is part of the podcast Encore Houston

  • Subscribe on Apple Podcasts
  • Subscribe on Google Podcasts
  • Subscribe on TuneIn
  • Subscribe on iHeart
  • Subscribe on Pandora
  • Subscribe on RadioPublic
  • Subscribe on Pocket Casts
  • Subscribe on Overcast
  • Subscribe on Amazon Music
  • Subscribe via RSS