Encore Houston

Encore Houston, Episode 61: KINETIC

KINETIC performs English string music by Elgar, Vaughan Williams, Britten, and Anna Clyne.

Violinists performing
Concertmaster Natalie Lin and KINETIC, the conductorless ensemble

On this week’s episode of Encore Houston, KINETIC, the conductorless ensemble performs a wide range of English string orchestra music, from Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro of 1905 to Anna Clyne’s 2012 Prince of Clouds, concluding with Benjamin Britten’s unique Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings featuring guest artists Christopher Bozeka and Robert Johnson.

Music in this episode:

  • EDWARD ELGAR, Introduction and Allegro for Strings
  • RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS, Nocturne and Scherzo
    • Dian Zhang, violin
    • MuChen Hsieh, violin
    • Sergein Yap, viola
    • Rachel Halvorson, viola
    • Patricia Ryan, cello
  • ANNA CLYNE, Prince of Clouds
    • Natalie Lin, violin
    • Giancarlo Latta, violin
  • BENJAMIN BRITTEN, Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings
    • Christopher Bozeka, tenor
    • Robert Johnson, horn
  • Performance date: 1/21/2018
  • Originally aired: 4/26/2018

New episodes of Encore Houston air Saturdays at 10 PM, with a repeat broadcast Sundays at 4 PM, all on Houston Public Media Classical.