Which Texans In Congress Voted To Reject Election Results?

Here are the lawmakers who voted to object to states’ election results after pro-Trump extremists stormed the U.S. Capitol building.


Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas, arrives as a joint session of the House and Senate convenes to confirm the Electoral College votes cast in November’s election, at the Capitol in Washington, Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2021.

Pro-Trump extremists violently stormed the U.S. Capitol Wednesday while Congress was in the middle of proceedings to certify the results of the 2020 presidential election.

While the insurrection forced an emergency recess, Congress eventually reconvened that night and finalized president-elect Joe Biden’s victory. Still, there were a total of eight senators and 139 representatives who voted to object states’ election results.

Many of them condemned the violent attack of the U.S. Capitol on social media or in statements, but proceeded with their objections.

Here are the 17 Texas representatives who voted to sustain one or both objections to the vote counts of Arizona and Pennsylvania:


Sen. Ted Cruz


Houston Area

  • Rep. Randy Weber – 14th Congressional District
  • Rep. Troy Nehls – 22nd Congressional District
  • Rep. Michael Cloud – 27th Congressional District*
  • Rep. Brian Babin – 36th Congressional District

North Texas

  • Rep. Louie Gohmert – 1st Congressional District
  • Rep. Pat Fallon – 4th Congressional District
  • Rep. Lance Gooden – 5th Congressional District
  • Rep. Ron Wright – 6th Congressional District
  • Rep. Ronny Jackson – 13th Congressional District
  • Rep. Beth Van Duyne – 24th Congressional District
  • Rep. Roger Williams – 25th Congressional District*
  • Rep. Michael C. Burgess – 26th Congressional District

Note: Rep. Beth Van Duyne was the only Texas representative who had a split-vote, voting against the objection to Arizona’s vote count and voting to object Pennsylvania’s vote count.

Austin Area

  • Rep. Pete Sessions – 17th Congressional District
  • Rep. Roger Williams – 25th Congressional District*
  • Rep. Michael Cloud – 27th Congressional District*
  • Rep. John R. Carter – 31st Congressional District

West Texas

  • Rep. August Pfluger – 11th Congressional District
  • Rep. Jodey Arrington – 19th Congressional District

*Indicate representatives who are included in two different sections because their districts are part of both areas.

Got a tip? Email Elizabeth Myong at Emyong@KERA.org. You can follow Elizabeth on Twitter @Elizabeth_Myong.

KERA News is made possible through the generosity of our members. If you find this reporting valuable, consider making a tax-deductible gift today. Thank you.

Today in Houston Newsletter Signup
We're in the process of transitioning services for our Today in Houston newsletter. If you'd like to sign up now, fill out the form below and we will add you as soon as we finish the transition. **Please note** If you are already signed up for the newsletter, you do not need to sign up again. Your subscription will be migrated over.