Andre Johnson becomes first Houston Texans player to make it into Pro Football Hall of Fame

A first-round pick in Houston’s second season in 2003, Johnson led the league in receiving yards twice, was a two-time All-Pro.

Super Bowl Honors Football
AP Photo/Godofredo A. Vásquez
Andre Johnson, NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2024, speaks during a news conference at the NFL Honors award show ahead of the Super Bowl 58 football game Thursday, Feb. 8, 2024, in Las Vegas. The San Francisco 49ers face the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl 58 on Sunday.

LAS VEGAS (AP) — The Pro Football Hall of Fame now has a roster featuring every NFL franchise.

Julius Peppers became the first player drafted by Carolina to make it to the Hall and Andre Johnson became the first for Houston as part of the 2024 class announced Thursday night at NFL Honors.

The Panthers and Texans had been the last two franchises who hadn't had a player they drafted get voted into the Hall.

"Any time you can be the first player to do something, it’s an amazing feeling," Johnson said. "It just adds more to your legacy. You'll always be remembered."

The class had a distinctive defensive feel with Johnson the only offensive player to make it. He became the first player to spend the bulk of his career with the Texans to make the Hall of Fame.

A first-round pick in Houston's second season in 2003, Johnson led the league in receiving yards twice, was a two-time All-Pro and had seven 1,000-yard seasons despite spending most of his career without an elite quarterback.

Texans sweep rookie awards

Some current Texans also had a good night as C.J. Stroud won the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year award in a landslide.

The Houston Texans' quarterback received 48 of 50 first-place votes with Los Angeles Rams wide receiver Puka Nacua getting the other two.

Nacua set a rookie record with 105 receptions and 1,486 yards receiving yards.

Lions tight end Sam LaPorta finished third.

Stroud helped Houston go from worst to first place in the AFC South and led the Texans to a playoff win in the wild-card round.

Stroud, the No. 2 overall pick, threw for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns, five interceptions and had a passer rating of 100.8, third-best by a rookie.

Stroud led the league in passing yards per game (273.9) and had the best touchdown-interception ratio at 4.6, becoming just the third player in NFL history to finish first in both categories, joining Joe Montana (1989) and Tom Brady (2007).

Will Anderson Jr. won the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year award, outgaining both Jalen Carter and Kobie Turner by two first-place votes.

The Texans' defensive end received 16 first-place votes, 21 second and eight thirds for 151 points. Anderson had seven sacks, 67 pressures, 22 quarterback hits, 29 tackles, including 10 for a loss. He also had a blocked field goal on special teams.

Anderson and Stroud are the fourth teammates to win the offensive and defensive rookie awards in the same season. Garrett Wilson and Sauce Gardner swept the awards last year for the New York Jets. Alvin Kamara and Marshon Lattimore did it with the Saints in 2017 and Detroit's Mel Farr and Lem Barney did it in 1967.

Stroud and Anderson were selected back-to-back with the second and third picks in the NFL draft.