San Antonio, Houston and Arlington chosen for XFL reboot

The season is scheduled to begin just days after the Super Bowl. Houston’s games will be played at TDECU Stadium.


Lucio Vasquez/Houston Public Media

San Antonio, Houston and Arlington have been chosen to host football teams in the latest reboot of the XFL.

The three Texas cities will join Seattle, Las Vegas, St. Louis, Orlando and Washington D.C. as hosts for the 2023 season.

The league made the announcement at a town hall meeting in Arlington on Sunday.

San Antonio will be coached by Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Famer Hines Ward. Wade Phillips, the former Cowboys head coach, will lead the Houston team. The Arlington team will be coached by former Oklahoma Sooners head coach Bob Stoops.

The XFL was originally launched in 2001 by former World Wrestling Entertainment Chairman and CEO Vince McMahon as an alternative to the NFL. It failed after one season and again in 2020. It’s now under the ownership of WWE Hall of Famer and actor Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, his business partner Danny Garcia, and RedBird Capital Partners.

The season is scheduled to begin February 18th, just days after the Super Bowl.

This story originally appeared on Texas Public Radio. TPR was founded by and is supported by the community. If you value its commitment to the highest standards of responsible journalism and are able to do so, please consider making your gift of support today.