Here’s The Latest List Of Candidates Running For Houston Mayor And City Council

The filing deadline was August 19.

Houston City Hall.

UPDATE (August 20, 2019): The post has now been updated with all of the candidates who met the filing deadline on August 19. 

We’re starting to get an idea of what November elections will look like in Houston, with a mayoral race and all 16 seats on City Council up for grabs.

Councilmembers Brenda Stardig, Jerry Davis, Ellen Cohen, Mike Laster and Jack Christie are term limited, making Districts A, B, C and J, as well as At-Large Position 5, open seats this November. In District F, incumbent Steve Le said he’s not seeking reelection. And with Councilmember Dwight Boykins running for mayor, several candidates are running for his seat in District D. Amanda Edwards also will not seek reelection for At-Large Position 4, as she’s running for U.S. Senate.

Councilmembers Dave Martin, Greg Travis, Karla Cisneros, Robert Gallegos, Martha Castex-Tatum, Mike Knox, David Robinson, and Michael Kubosh are running again for District E, G, H, I, K, At-Large Position 1, At-Large Position 2, and At-Large Position 3. 

Former Harris County Treasurer Orlando Sanchez is jumping into the race for controller, running against incumbent Chris Brown.

Below is the list of candidates who filed for a place on the ballot by the August 19 deadline. Those who didn’t make the deadline have until August 23 to file as a write-in candidate.



Kendall Baker

Dwight A. Boykins 

Derrick Broze  

Tony Buzbee 

Naoufal Houjami

Bill King

Sue Lovell

Victoria Romero

Demetria Smith

Johnny “J.T.” Taylor

Sylvester Turner (incumbent)

Roy Vasquez


City Controller 

Chris B. Brown (incumbent)

Orlando Sanchez


District A 

Mehdi Cherkaoui

Marina Angelica Coryat

Lois Dickson Myers

Amy Peck 

Iesheia Ayers-Wilson

George Harry Zoes


District B 

Robin J. Anderson

Cynthia Bailey

Prince E.W. Bryant II

Broderick F. Butler

Alvin D. Byrd 

Karisma D. Gillam 

Tarsha Jackson

Alice Kirkmon

Karen “KKC” Kossie-Chernyshev

Kenneth Perkins

Alyson Quintana 

Renee Jefferson Smith 

Ben White, Jr.

Huey German-Wilson


District C

Candelario Cervantez 

Michelle Ganz

Rodney Hill 

Gladys House

Abbie Kamin

Shelley Kennedy

Sean P. Marshall

Greg Meyers

Bob Nowak

Daphne Scarbrough

Mary Jane Smith 

Kevin Walker

Amanda Wolfe


District D

Anthony Kirk Allen 

Carla Brailey

Andrew C. Burks, Jr. 

Rashad Cave 

Marlon A. Christian

Dennis Griffin

Mike Grissom

T. “Nissi” Hamilton 

Brad “Scarface” Jordan

Travis McGee

Dontrell L. Montgomery 

Ken Moore

Jerome Provost

Carolyn Evans-Shabazz

Terrill D. Thomas


District E 

Sam Cleveland

Dave Martin (incumbent)


District F 

Van Huynh 

Anthony Nelson

G. “John” Nguyen 

Richard Nguyen

Tiffany D. Thomas

Jesus Zachary Zamora


District G

Tom Baker

Crystal Pletka

Greg Travis (incumbent)


District H

Karla Cisneros (incumbent)

Isabel Longoria

Cynthia Reyes-Revilla 

Gaby Salcedo


District I

Robert Gallegos (incumbent)

Richard “Rick” Gonzales


District J

Nelvin Adriatico 

Federico “Freddie” Cuellar

Barry Curtis

Rafael Galvan

Andrew “Drew” Patterson

Edward Pollard

Sandra Rodriguez 


District K

Martha Castex-Tatum (incumbent)

Kim Sauke

Gerry Vander-Lyn


At-Large Position 1

Larry Blackmon

Mike Knox (incumbent)

Yolanda Navarro Flores

Georgia Provost 

Raj Salhotra 


At-Large Position 2 

Willie R. Davis 

Emily Muñoz DeToto

M. “Griff” Griffin

Jim Honey

David W. Robinson (incumbent)


At-Large Position 3

Janaeya Carmouche 

Jose Carlos Gonzalez

Michael Kubosh (incumbent)

Marcel McClinton


At-Large Position 4

Bill Baldwin 

Christel Bastida 

Anthony Dolcefino

Javier Gonzalez

Tiko Hausman 

Nick Hellyar 

James “Joe” Joseph

Jennifer L. Laney

Ericka McCrutcheon

Letitia Plummer

Jason Rowe


At-Large Position 5

Sallie Alcorn

J. Brad Batteau

Michelle Bonton

Eric Dick

Catherine Garcia Flowers

Ralph “Rafa” Garcia

Marvin McNeese Jr.

Sonia Rivera

Ashton P. Woods