Energy & Environment

NRG’s Petra Nova Carbon Capture Plant Officially Inaugurated

Speakers included U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry and Texas Gov. Greg Abbott.


To embed this piece of audio in your site, please use this code:

<iframe src="" style="height: 115px; width: 100%;"></iframe>

It was actually a "valve opening" more so than a ribbon-cutting: Executives with NRG, Hilcorp and Japanese company JX Nippon as well as government officials simultaneously turned the wheels on a big mock pipeline.

NRG's Petra Nova system diverts carbon dioxide from the W.A. Parish plant near Sugar Land and pipes it to the West Ranch oil field 80 miles southwest of here.

There, it's used to significantly boost oil production.

NRG says it's captured and delivered more than 300,000 tons of CO2 since it first started operating in September.

"This is a great day for Texas energy diversity, the development of these clean technologies," said energy secretary Rick Perry, who was one of the speakers at the ceremony.

Also there was Texas Gov. Greg Abbott, who joined in on the praise, comparing the carbon capture project to the first great Texas oil boom in 1901.

"116 years after Spindletop, Texas is once again the epicenter of energy innovation," he said. "We see that innovation right here at Petra Nova."

Critics say despite the $1 billion price tag, the carbon capture at NRG's plant is not big enough to make a difference – just about one-twelfth of the total CO2 is captured.

Environmental groups also point out that the plant continues to emit other harmful pollutants, although it does meet government standards.

Subscribe to Today in Houston

Fill out the form below to subscribe our new daily editorial newsletter from the HPM Newsroom.

* required


Florian Martin

Florian Martin

Business Reporter

Florian Martin is the News 88.7 business reporter and also covers criminal justice, guns and shootings.Florian's stories can frequently be heard on other public radio stations throughout Texas and on NPR nationwide. Some of them have earned him awards from Texas AP Broadcasters, the Houston Press Club, National Association of...

More Information