This article is over 6 years old


Texas Governor Declares State Of Disaster For 31 Counties

A declaration at the state level is a step towards enabling a federal disaster declaration.

Governor Greg Abbott declared a state disaster declaration for the following 31 Texas counties on Wednesday.

"As our state continues to face waves of severe weather and potential flooding, it is crucial that Texans remain vigilant and heed warnings and any evacuation notices from local officials in their areas," said Governor Greg Abbott in a media release. "I would like to thank the first responders who have rescued residents from rising waters and ask all Texans to keep those affected in their thoughts and prayers."

The counties include the following: Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Coleman, Colorado, Erath, Fayette, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Kleberg, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Lubbock, Montgomery, Palo Pinto, Parker, Polk, Robertson, San Jacinto, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington and Wharton.

A declaration at the state level is a step towards enabling President Obama to sign a national disaster declaration.

Subscribe to Today in Houston

Fill out the form below to subscribe our new daily editorial newsletter from the HPM Newsroom.

* required