This article is over 9 years old


Third Time’s The Charm: Craig Biggio Inducted Into Baseball Hall Of Fame

Craig Biggio, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and John Smoltz were the four inducted today.


To embed this piece of audio in your site, please use this code:

<iframe src="" style="height: 115px; width: 100%;"></iframe>

Ed Schipul/flickr
Craig Biggio in May of 2007, addressing fans after a double against the Reds


Craig Biggio was the first to be announced. Biggio is part of the National Baseball Hall of Fame 2015 with 82.7% of the votes.

Others inducted include, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz.

Biggio spent 20 seasons in the majors while playing his entire career as a catcher, second baseman and outfielder with the Astros before retiring in 2007.

This was Biggio’s third attempt after falling two votes shy last year.

His former Astros teammate Jeff Bagwell fell short for the fifth time.

The ceremony is in Cooperstown on July 26.


announment made by Jeff Idelson, president of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

“I have the official envelope here. We’ll open it up. This year’s ballot was reviewed by 549 voters, and we have not seen results like this in 60 years. The writers have elected four deserving candidates for the first time since 1955, and they have voted in three pitchers in a single election for the first time ever. Our first Hall of Famer spent 20 seasons wearing the Houston Astros uniform. He was named to seven All-Star teams. He won four Gold Glove awards as a second baseman, thanks to his coach, Yogi Berra, who moved him out from behind the plate. He ranks fifth all-time at doubles, 15th at runs scored and is just one of 28 members of the 3,000 hit club — a very prestigious one at that. Craig Biggio, welcome to Cooperstown!”