New List Shows Eversole Replacement Candidates

As Judge Ed Emmett makes a final decision on who will replace Commissioner Jerry Eversole, his office has released a list of names that have been considered.


The list is full of surprises and many familiar names.

Former County Judge Robert Eckels, who led the county for 12 years before he resigned in 2007, is on the list.

So are former Port Commissioner Ned Holmes, Harris County Republican Party Chairman Jared Woodfill and current city council members Mike Sullivan and Oliver Pennington.

Former council members Gabe Vasquez, Toni Lawrence and Martha Wong are also on the list. Someone named Joseph Emmett is on the list.

Judge Emmett has a son named Joseph Emmett who lives in Harris County, but it’s not the same person.

Emmett’s spokesman, Joe Stinebaker, tells KUHF that the people on the list were either self-nominated, nominated by someone else, or put on the list by Judge Emmett himself. Stinebaker says Emmett hasn’t actually made a final decision yet, but will before Monday morning.


66 names that were under consideration at some point for new commissioner of Precinct 4 

1. Maurice Amidei 34. I.T. ‘Buddy’ May
2. Jason Baldwin 35. Allan Meyer
3. Thomas Bazan 36. Brian Mount
4. Dwayne Bohac 37. Jeff Nielsen
5. James Buchanan 38. Rafael Ortega
6. Mike Byers 39. Sandra Pelmore
7. Robert Cadena 40. Oliver Pennington
8. Jack Cagle 41. Michael Pollak
9. Charles Cunningham

42. Dave Riddle

10. Suzanne Davis 43. Debbie Riddle
11. Craig Day 44. Mike Riddle
12. Robert Eckels 45. Frank Rush
13. George Edwards 46. Mark Sappington
14. Joseph Emmett 47. Ashley Smith
15. Josh Flynn 48. Mary Spinks
16. Sylvia Garcia 49. Jeff Stauber
17. Elisa Gonzales 50. Fred Stockton
18. Gil Gushin 51. Pat Stovall
19. Peggy Hamric 52. Ben Streusand
20. Patricia Harless 53. Mike Sullivan
21. Mickey Herskowitz 54. Joe Turner
22. Ron Hickman 55. Chase Untermeyer
23. Ned Holmes 56. Gabriel Vasquez
24. Dan Huberty 57. Len Waterworth
25. Betty Kaechler 58. Allen Watson
26. Sam Kannappan 59. Robert Westover  
27. Vernon Kemp 60. Addie Wiseman
28. Court Koenning 61. Martha Wong
29. Toni Lawrence 62. Jared Woodfill
30. Charles Lusk 63. Kerry Wright
31. Vidal Martinez 64. Robert Ybanez
32. Tom Matthews 65. Larry Youngblood
33. Rob Maxwell 66. Victor Zigmont


Subscribe to Today in Houston

Fill out the form below to subscribe our new daily editorial newsletter from the HPM Newsroom.

* required