This article is over 7 years old

Houston Symphony

Martin Helmchen Solos With The Houston Symphony

The German pianist talks about performing Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1.



To embed this piece of audio in your site, please use this code:

<iframe src="" style="height: 115px; width: 100%;"></iframe>
Pianist Martin Helmchen
Pianist Martin Helmchen

Making a return appearance with the Houston Symphony this weekend a Jones Hall, Martin Helmchen is the soloist in Dmitri Shostakovich's Concerto No. 1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings, often referred to simply as the Piano Concerto No. 1.

Also on the program are Beethoven's Symphony No. 3, Eroica and Music of Air and Fire by Rice University composer Pierre Jalbert. Music Director Andrés Orozco-Estrada conducts.

Martin Helmchen talks with Houston Public Media's St.John Flynn about the Shostakovich concerto he's performing this weekend.

Listen to the Houston Symphony's On the Music podcast about Beethoven's Eroica Symphony.