This article is over 8 years old

Classical Music

Houston Symphony Ima Hogg Competition Winners

Read the results of this weekend’s Ima Hogg Competition finals.

The 39th Houston Symphony Ima Hogg Finals Competition was held Saturday evening in Stude Concert Hall at Rice University, and broadcast live on Houston Public Media Classical 91.7. The four young finalists each performed a complete concerto on stage with the Houston Symphony under the baton of guest conductor Hugh Wolff, former music director of the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra and the New Jersey Symphony. 

Included on the program were: Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini for piano and orchestra; the Marimba Concerto No. 1 by Danish composer Anders Koppel; Carl Maria von Weber’s Clarinet Concerto No. 2 in E-flat major; and Tchaikovsky’s Variations on Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra.

The final rankings were decided by a panel of distinguished judges which included: James Judd, former music director of the Florida Philharmonic Orchestra and the New Zealand Symphony; Ron Merlino, president and artist manager at Music Vine Artist Management; and Scott Cantrell, classical music critic for the Dallas Morning News.

The Audience Choice Award was based on votes from the audience in the hall and those listening to the live broadcast on Classical 91.7 who voted online via the Houston Symphony website. The Artistic Encouragement Award winner was selected by the votes of the Houston Symphony musicians who worked with each finalist during two days of rehearsals.

After the judges deliberations, and the audience and orchestra musicians’ votes, the winners were announced:

First Place:  Lin Ma, clarinet

Second Place: Yekwon Sunwoo, piano

Third Place: Maria Chlebus, marimba

Fourth Place: Fedor Amosov, cello

Audience Choice Award: Fedor Amosov

Artistic Encouragement Award: Fedor Amosov

Ima Hogg Competition Winners
Ima Hogg Competition Finalists and Judges. Seated: Lin Ma, first place; Maria Chlebus, third place; Fedor Amosov, fourth place; Yekwon Sunwoo, second place. Standing: James Judd; Hugh Wolff; Ron Merlino; Scott Cantrell.