2014 PBS KIDS Writers Contest


2015 PBS Kids Writers Contest

Calling Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd and 3rd Grade Authors and Artists to enter the 2015 PBS KIDS Writers Contest.

Children write and illustrate their own stories and enter for a chance to win great prizes at both the local and national levels.

Entry deadline is Monday, March 16, 2015.

The official contest entry forms and rules will be posted on the Houston Public Media website in January 2015 and distributed to local public libraries. 


Word range 

Kinder and 1st grade: minimum - 50, maximum - 200

2nd grade & 3rd grade: minimum-100, maximum - 350


Illustrations: Minimum of 5

The story can be on any topic.

Every child who enters will receive a certificate of achievement and First Place winners for each grade will represent Houston Public Media in the national contest. Have fun writing and illustrating!


2014 Houston Public Media PBS KIDS Writers 

Thanks to all of the talented Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade authors that participated in this year's contest. We had over 450 entries! Your stories were wonderfully creative and beautifully illustrated. The judges were very impressed with all of the entries and we consider everyone "a winner" for taking the time to write and illustrate their very own masterpiece. Information for the 2015 contest will be on the Houston Public Media website January 2015 with an entry deadline of mid-March. Remember to keep writing and illustrating!

Here is the list of this year's award winning authors. First Place Winners stories will proceed to the national contest to represent the Houston Public Media area.

First Place Winners and Special Honorees


First Place Winner: Viktoria Svensson (Katy) - Read My Story

Adrienne Dubuc (Houston) Abdullah Khan (Sugar Land) Yahya M. J. Khan (Sugar Land)
Salma Lail (Sugar Land) Raif Mustafa Siddiqui (Houston) Jefferson Stencil (El Lago)
Isabella Svensson (Katy) Mia Torres (Houston) Andrea Willman (Houston)


First Grade

First Place Winner: Ethan Bauder (Spring) - Read My Story

Imaan Aamir* (Stafford) Shubham Agarwal* (Richmond) Elizabeth Bauer (Houston)
Madhuvanthi Fernando (Cypress) Henry Gillett (Katy) Sakina Hussain* (Katy)
Hafsa Rehmatullah (Sugar Land) Chloe Smith (League City) Aishwaryaa Udeshi (Sugar Land)


Second Grade

First Place Winner: Mallory Dwyer* (Katy) - Read My Story

Usaid Binasif (Houston) Samuel Conly (Houston) Molly Day* (Houston)
Jack Dellamea (Houston) Harper Hinze (Richmond) Medha Janga (Katy)
Isabella Koosh* (Houston) Austin Lan (Houston) Haider Mahdi* (Richmond)


Third Grade

First Place Winner: Takoda Ordonez-Jacobson (Alvin) - Read My Story

Maia Brown* (Houston) Learsi Kay Buford* (New Caney) Victoria Espinosa* (Houston)
Lila Henningsen (Houston) Soha Jashwant (Katy) Mia Price* (Houston)
Mustafa Rafiq* (Sugar Land) Leila Sanchez-O'Hara (Katy) Emaan Yusuf* (Sugar Land)

* Previous Honoree

Category: education | Sub Category: writers contest