Playlist for Friday, February 12, 2016

  • 12:00 am

    Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

    Program Playlist
    • 12:01 am
      Composer: David Guion, Performer: Eugene Rowley, piano

    • 12:06 am
      Symphony No. 49 "La Passione"
      Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn, Conductor: Adrian Shepherd

    • 12:28 am
      String Quintet: 3rd movement
      Composer: Franz Schubert, Performer: Michael Kannen, cello

    • 12:40 am
      Romance Without Words
      Composer: Gabriel Faure, Performer: Susan Jolles, harp

    • 12:44 am
      Concerto on Themes by Donizetti
      Composer: Antonio Pasculli, Performer: Burkhard Glaetzner, oboe, Conductor: Claus Peter Flor

    • 1:01 am
      Noble and Sentimental Waltzes: VIII. Epilogue Lent
      Composer: Maurice Ravel, Performer: Stephen Kovacevich, piano

    • 1:06 am
      Symphony No. 9 "From the New World"
      Composer: Antonin Dvorak, Conductor: George Szell

    • 1:46 am
      The Seasons: April (Snowdrop)
      Composer: Peter Tchaikovsky, Performer: Lang Lang, piano

    • 1:51 am
      Prelude and Quadruple Fugue
      Composer: Alan Hovhaness, Conductor: Gerard Schwarz

    • 2:01 am
      Carmina Burana: Merry Face of Spring
      Composer: Carl Orff, Conductor: Christian Thielemann

    • 2:06 am
      Symphony No. 9
      Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Conductor: Adam Fischer

    • 2:16 am
      Wand of Youth Suite No. 1
      Composer: Edward Elgar, Conductor: Bryden Thomson

    • 2:39 am
      Drive the Cold Winter Away
      Composer: John Playford

    • 2:41 am
      Violin Sonata No. 6
      Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Performer: Jaime Laredo, violin

    • 3:01 am
      Concerto for Viola and Orchestra
      Composer: Carl Stamitz, Performer: Wolfram Christ, viola, Conductor: Helmut Muller-Bruhl

    • 3:06 am
      In the Well: The Rising of the Moon
      Composer: Vilem Blodek, Conductor: Vaclav Smetacek

    • 3:13 am
      Piano Concerto No. 1
      Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Performer: Martha Argerich, piano, Conductor: Giuseppe Sinopoli

    • 3:50 am
      Oboe Sonata
      Composer: George Frideric Handel

    • 4:01 am
      Czech Suite: Sousedska
      Composer: Antonin Dvorak, Conductor: Jose Serebrier

    • 4:06 am
      Variations on a Theme by Haydn "St. Antoni Chorale"
      Composer: Johannes Brahms, Conductor: Daniel Barenboim

    • 4:26 am
      Spellbound: Dream Sequence/Mountain Lodge
      Composer: Miklos Rozsa, Conductor: John Williams

    • 4:33 am
      Violin Concerto No. 1
      Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn, Performer: Gil Shaham, violin

    • 4:51 am
      Grand Duo: Rondo
      Composer: Joseph Wolfl

    • 5:01 am
      3 Parts on a Ground
      Composer: Henry Purcell

    • 5:06 am
      La gazza ladra (The Thieving Magpie): Overture
      Composer: Gioacchino Rossini, Conductor: Thomas Schippers

    • 5:18 am
      Serenade No. 1
      Composer: Jean Sibelius, Performer: Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin, Conductor: Andre Previn

    • 5:26 am
      Horn Concerto
      Composer: Franz Pokorny, Performer: Hermann Baumann, horn, Conductor: Iona Brown

    • 5:44 am
      Paisajes: El Lago (The Lake)
      Composer: Federico Mompou, Performer: Leif Ove Andsnes, piano

    • 5:48 am
      Fantasy on a Hymn by Justin Morgan
      Composer: Thomas Canning, Conductor: Raymond Leppard

  • 10:00 am

    Performance Today

    Performance Today features timely recordings that can't be heard anywhere else, recent performances by the great artists of our time and by the next generation...

  • 12:00 pm

    Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

  • 7:00 pm

    Exploring Music

    Exploring Music with Bill McGlaughlin is an exciting daily radio program that delves into a wide assortment of topics in classical music. Each five-program series...

  • 8:00 pm

    Cleveland Orchestra

    Since 1965, WCLV has broadcast Cleveland Orchestra concerts and has distributed them to stations across the country. Robert Conrad has served as the host since...

  • 10:00 pm

    Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

About Classical 91.7

Classical 91.7 is Houston’s only classical music station, providing Houstonians with outstanding performances from local to international.

Support comes primarily through the generous contributions of listeners with additional money from grants, special events and the local business community.

KUHA Classical 91.7 is licensed to the University of Houston System governed by the UH Board of RegentsThe Houston Public Media Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3 support organization which serves to secure the financial future of Houston Public Broadcasting and to cultivate and engage community resources to support its mission.

88.7 HD-2 To Be the New Home of Classical Music in Houston

The University of Houston Administrative & Finance Committee recommended to the Board of Regents that Houston Public Media pursue an HD radio and digital distribution strategy for Classical 91.7.

This means full time Classical music will continue over the air on 88.7 HD-2.

HD Radio is free and readily accessible today.

88.7 HD-2 reaches more people and provides a higher quality sound.

Full-time classical programming will also be available on TV 8.5 and streaming online via our playeriHeartRadio, and TuneIn.

If you would like to provide feedback, please send your comments to