Playlist for Tuesday, July 26, 2016

  • 12:00 am

    Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

    Program Playlist
    • 12:01 am
      Manon Lescaut: Prelude to Act 2
      Composer: Giacomo Puccini, Conductor: Riccardo Chailly

    • 12:06 am
      Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun (Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune)
      Composer: Claude Debussy, Conductor: Daniel Barenboim

    • 12:18 am
      Violin Sonata No. 8
      Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Performer: Midori, violin

    • 12:36 am
      Oboe Concerto
      Composer: Jan Anton Kozeluh, Performer: Albrecht Mayer, oboe, Conductor: Albrecht Mayer

    • 1:01 am
      Moths and Butterflies and Wild Bears
      Composer: Edward Elgar, Conductor: James Judd

    • 1:06 am
      Elegy for Violin and Strings
      Composer: Keith Jarrett, Performer: Eleonora Turovsky, violin, Conductor: Yuli Turovsky

    • 1:25 am
      Pagliacci: Bell Chorus
      Composer: Ruggero Leoncavallo, Performer: Luciano Pavarotti, tenor, Conductor: Riccardo Muti

    • 1:31 am
      Composer: Carl Reinecke, Conductor: Johannes Goritzki

    • 2:01 am
      Composer: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, Performer: Mikhail Pletnev, piano

    • 2:06 am
      Variations on a Waltz for Orchestra
      Composer: Jerome Moross, Conductor: JoAnn Falletta

    • 2:16 am
      Symphony No. 1 "Spring"
      Composer: Robert Schumann, Conductor: James Levine

    • 2:50 am
      Composer: Dan Locklair, Performer: Jozef Zsapka, guitar, Conductor: Kirk Trevor

    • 3:01 am
      Piano Trio No. 9: Rondo
      Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    • 3:06 am
      Symphony No. 26
      Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Conductor: Trevor Pinnock

    • 3:15 am
      Dances of the Dolls: Lyric Waltz
      Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich, Performer: Lisa Batiashvili, violin, Conductor: Esa-Pekka Salonen

    • 3:20 am
      Flute Concerto
      Composer: Antonio Vivaldi, Performer: James Galway, flute, Conductor: Claudio Scimone

    • 3:30 am
      Piano Trio
      Composer: Maurice Ravel

    • 4:01 am
      Symphony: Intermezzo
      Composer: Edvard Grieg, Conductor: Neeme Jarvi

    • 4:06 am
      A Shropshire Lad
      Composer: George Butterworth, Conductor: William Boughton

    • 4:17 am
      Composer: Norman Dello Joio, Performer: Yolanda Kondonassis, harp

    • 4:26 am
      Our Town
      Composer: Aaron Copland, Conductor: Aaron Copland

    • 4:39 am
      String Quartet No. 61 "Fifths"
      Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

    • 5:01 am
      Composer: Anton Wunderer

    • 5:06 am
      Lieutenant Kije: Troika
      Composer: Sergei Prokofiev, Conductor: Leonard Bernstein

    • 5:09 am
      Flute Concerto
      Composer: Frederick the Great, Performer: Manfred Friedrich, flute, Conductor: Hartmut Haenchen

    • 5:26 am
      Miss Sally's Party
      Composer: William Grant Still, Conductor: Philip Brunelle

    • 5:47 am
      Fur Elise
      Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Performer: Alfred Brendel, piano

    • 5:51 am
      Composer: Emil Waldteufel

    • 6:01 am
      Composers Datebook

    • 6:03 am
      Les Boreades: Contredanse en rondeau
      Composer: Jean-Philippe Rameau, Conductor: Frans Bruggen

    • 6:06 am
      Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Performer: Julia Fischer, violin, Conductor: Yakov Kreizberg

    • 6:15 am
      Composer: Mateo Albeniz, Performer: Alicia de Larrocha, piano

    • 6:19 am
      Perpetual Motion Piece No. 3
      Composer: Francis Poulenc, Performer: William Bennett, flute

    • 6:23 am
      Sonorous Table Suite (Mensa sonora): Part 5
      Composer: Heinrich Biber, Conductor: Garry Clarke

    • 6:31 am
      Por Una Cabeza/La Cumparsita
      Composer: Carlos Gardel/Gerardo H. Matos Rodriguez, Conductor: Angele Dubeau

    • 6:35 am
      Concerto Serenade
      Composer: Joaquin Rodrigo, Performer: Nancy Allen, harp, Conductor: Enrique Batiz

    • 7:01 am
      Notre Dame: Intermezzo
      Composer: Franz Schmidt, Conductor: Herbert von Karajan

    • 7:06 am
      Trumpet Concerto
      Composer: Johann Fasch, Performer: Wynton Marsalis, trumpet, Conductor: Raymond Leppard

    • 7:12 am
      Peer Gynt: Anitra's Dance
      Composer: Edvard Grieg, Conductor: Esa-Pekka Salonen

    • 7:17 am
      Symphony No. 80
      Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

    • 7:40 am
      Prelude in C# minor
      Composer: Sergei Rachmaninoff, Performer: Vladimir Ashkenazy, piano

    • 7:47 am
      The Seasons: February (Shrovetide)
      Composer: Peter Tchaikovsky, Conductor: Constantine Orbelian

    • 7:50 am
      La Procession del Rocio
      Composer: Joaquin Turina, Conductor: Antonio de Almeida

    • 8:01 am
      The Capricious One
      Composer: Edward Elgar, Performer: Sarah Chang, violin

    • 8:06 am
      Hungarian Dance No. 6
      Composer: Johannes Brahms, Conductor: Neville Marriner

    • 8:10 am
      Celtic Fare
      Composer: Scott Tennant/Simon Jeffes

    • 8:18 am
      Clarinet Concerto
      Composer: Aaron Copland, Performer: Robert Spring, clarinet, Conductor: Timothy Russell

    • 8:36 am
      Partita No. 2
      Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Performer: Simone Dinnerstein, piano

    • 9:01 am
      Overture No. 5: Andante
      Composer: Carl Friedrich Abel, Conductor: Paul Dombrecht

  • 10:00 am

    Performance Today

    Performance Today features timely recordings that can't be heard anywhere else, recent performances by the great artists of our time and by the next generation...

  • 12:00 pm

    Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

  • 7:00 pm

    Exploring Music

    Exploring Music with Bill McGlaughlin is an exciting daily radio program that delves into a wide assortment of topics in classical music. Each five-program series...

  • 8:00 pm

    New York Philharmonic

    Bringing you the best of the New York Philharmonic

  • 10:00 pm

    Classical Music

    Live classical music from American Public Media hosts.

About HPM Classical

HPM Classical is Houston’s only classical music station, providing Houstonians with outstanding performances from local to international. Support comes primarily through the generous contributions of listeners with additional money from grants, special events and the local business community. HPM Classical is licensed to the University of Houston System governed by the UH Board of RegentsThe Houston Public Media Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3 support organization which serves to secure the financial future of Houston Public Broadcasting and to cultivate and engage community resources to support its mission.


88.7 HD-2 To Be the New Home of Classical Music in Houston

The University of Houston Administrative & Finance Committee recommended to the Board of Regents that Houston Public Media pursue an HD radio and digital distribution strategy for HPM Classical.

This means full time Classical music will continue over the air on 88.7 HD-2.

HD Radio is free and readily accessible today.

88.7 HD-2 reaches more people and provides a higher quality sound.

Full-time classical programming will also be available on TV 8.5 and streaming online via our playeriHeartRadio, and TuneIn. If you would like to provide feedback, please send your comments to

You can also receive an HD Radio by making a donation to Houston Public Media here.